FILE: AA

## MEDFORD AREA PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

DATE ADOPTED: March 20, 1979 FILE SECTOR: FOUNDATIONS & BASIC

DATE REVISED: October 11, 1990 COMMITMENTS

DATE REVISED: May 15, 1997 POLICY TITLE: SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

DATE REVISED: October 17, 2002 DATE REVIEWED: July 16, 2009

DATE REVISED: September 17, 2015 DATE REVISED: September 27, 2021

The United States Constitution leaves to individual states responsibility for public education.

The constitution of the state of Wisconsin provides for the establishment of free district schools "...which shall be as nearly uniform as practicable" and sets up the basis for school district organization and reorganization.

This district was originally known as Joint School District No. 1, et al. As of 5/13/76, in accordance with new legislation, the school board adopted "Medford Area Public School District" (MAPSD) as the district's official name.

MAPSD is classified as a common school district. It includes the municipalities of the city of Medford, the townships of Browning, Chelsea, Deer Creek, Goodrich, Grover, Hammel, Holway, Little Black, Maplehurst, Medford, Molitor, the village of Stetsonville, all in Taylor County, and the township of Bern in Marathon County. The district is under the management and control of a locally elected board of education which acts as an agent of the state and governs the public schools in accordance with state law.

## **CROSS REFERENCE:**

LEGAL REFERENCE: United States Constitution, Tenth Amendment, Wisconsin Constitution, Article X, Wis. Stats. 115.01(3) & 115.01(5)